For a multi-gig plan, choose the router by its internet (WAN) port first:
Plans of 5 Gig and faster need a 10 Gbps internet port: the ASUS RT-BE88U (most multi-gig wired ports), the NETGEAR Nighthawk RS700S (a second 10 Gbps port for a wired device) or the ASUS RT-BE92U (four 2.5 Gbps ports), both with 6 GHz Wi-Fi, or the NETGEAR Orbi 970 mesh system for a larger home.
Plans of about 2 Gig need at least a 2.5 Gbps port: the ASUS RT-BE58U for a smaller home, or the NETGEAR Orbi 770 mesh system for a larger one.
We haven’t tested these products ourselves. They were picked from the manufacturers’ port specifications, which are facts you can check, against the rules below, and each one’s US regulatory status was matched to the FCC’s latest approvals.
Which port your plan needs
A router can’t pass more internet speed than its internet port allows. Here’s how one provider’s guidance lines up with plan speeds. gFiber recommends a 1 Gbps WAN port for its 1 Gig plan, a 10 Gbps WAN port with Wi-Fi 6E or Wi-Fi 7 for its 2, 3 and 5 Gig plans, and a 10 Gbps WAN port with Wi-Fi 7 for its 8 Gig plan. In between 1 and 10 Gbps sit 2.5 and 5 Gbps Ethernet, defined in IEEE 802.3bz.
Your plan
Minimum internet port
Notes
Up to 1 Gig
1 Gbps
Any current router
About 2 Gig
2.5 Gbps
gFiber recommends 10 Gbps for its 2 Gig plan, for headroom
3 to 5 Gig
10 Gbps
A 5 Gbps port is too tight for a 5 Gig plan
8 Gig and above
10 Gbps
Plus Wi-Fi 7 for the fastest wireless devices
This table is Router Academy’s reading of the port speeds, using gFiber’s guidance as the benchmark.
Where multi-gig speed actually shows up
Intel’s rating is the source for that figure.
The picks by plan tier
Pick
Internet port
Multi-gig LAN ports
Wi-Fi
Plan tier
ASUS RT-BE88U
10 Gbps
10 Gbps SFP+, three 2.5 Gbps
Wi-Fi 7, 2.4 + 5 GHz
5 Gig and faster
NETGEAR RS700S
10 Gbps
One 10 Gbps
Wi-Fi 7, 2.4 + 5 + 6 GHz
5 Gig and faster
ASUS RT-BE92U
10 Gbps (WAN/LAN)
Four 2.5 Gbps (one WAN/LAN)
Wi-Fi 7, 2.4 + 5 + 6 GHz
5 Gig and faster
NETGEAR Orbi 970
10 Gbps
10 Gbps on router and satellites
Wi-Fi 7, quad-band, mesh
5 Gig and faster, larger homes
ASUS RT-BE58U
2.5 Gbps
None (other ports 1 Gbps)
Wi-Fi 7, 2.4 + 5 GHz
About 2 Gig, smaller homes
NETGEAR Orbi 770
2.5 Gbps
2.5 Gbps on router and satellites
Wi-Fi 7, 2.4 + 5 + 6 GHz, mesh
About 2 Gig, larger homes
Port specifications are the manufacturers’: ASUS for the RT-BE88U, RT-BE92U and RT-BE58U, NETGEAR for the RS700S, the Orbi 770, which also offers a 2.5 Gbps wired backhaul option between units, and the Orbi 970, whose satellites each have a 10 Gbps port for a 10 Gbps wired backhaul.
All six come from manufacturers with a current FCC Conditional Approval for these product lines: ASUS’s RT series until 6 March 2028, and NETGEAR’s Nighthawk RS and Orbi series until 1 October 2027, as of the FCC’s notice of 9 September 2026. See the FCC router rule explained.
A 10 Gbps internet port plus a 10 Gbps SFP+ port and three 2.5 Gbps LAN ports, so both the plan and several wired devices can run at multi-gig speeds.
Our analysis Editorial
Best for
Multi-gig internet plans that need a 10 Gbps internet port
Homes with several wired devices that benefit from 2.5 Gbps and 10 Gbps ports
Not for you if…
People who want 6 GHz Wi-Fi (it is dual-band 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz only)
Large or multi-floor homes that need coverage from more than one unit
Strengths
One 10 Gbps RJ45 WAN/LAN port and one 10 Gbps SFP+ port
Four-stream radios on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz
Can act as the main router of an ASUS AiMesh network
Limitations
No 6 GHz band, so no 320 MHz Wi-Fi 7 channels
Manufacturer specifications Manufacturer
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)
Speed class
BE7200
Bands
2.4 GHz + 5 GHz
WAN port
1× 10 Gbps
LAN ports
1× 10 Gbps SFP+, 3× 2.5 Gbps, 4× 1 Gbps
Mesh
Proprietary mesh
Coverage
Not specified by manufacturer
Subscription
Not specified by manufacturer
Specifications from ASUS, checked October 4, 2026.
Things to know
US regulatory status: FCC Conditional Approval (expires March 6, 2028), as of October 4, 2026. Per Federal Communications Commission public notice. What this means
A 10 Gbps internet port and one 10 Gbps LAN port, plus tri-band Wi-Fi 7 including 6 GHz for the fastest wireless devices.
Our analysis Editorial
Best for
Multi-gig plans and homes with Wi-Fi 6E or Wi-Fi 7 devices that can use 6 GHz
A single 10 Gbps wired device or switch alongside the router
Not for you if…
Buyers who want several multi-gig LAN ports (one 10 Gbps LAN; the rest are 1 Gbps)
Homes that need more than one unit for coverage
Strengths
Tri-band Wi-Fi 7 including 6 GHz
10 Gbps internet port and one 10 Gbps LAN port
Limitations
Four of its five LAN ports are 1 Gbps
Security service is a paid subscription after the trial
Manufacturer specifications Manufacturer
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)
Speed class
BE19000
Bands
2.4 GHz + 5 GHz + 6 GHz
WAN port
1× 10 Gbps
LAN ports
1× 10 Gbps, 4× 1 Gbps
Mesh
Not specified by manufacturer
Coverage
NETGEAR claims up to 3,500 sq ft
Subscription
NETGEAR Armor (optional)
Specifications from NETGEAR, checked October 4, 2026.
Things to know
US regulatory status: FCC Conditional Approval (expires October 1, 2027), as of October 4, 2026. Per Federal Communications Commission public notice. What this means
A 10 Gbps WAN/LAN port and four 2.5 Gbps ports with tri-band Wi-Fi 7 including 6 GHz, for one-router homes that wire several 2.5 Gbps devices.
Our analysis Editorial
Best for
Plans of 3 to 5 Gig and faster in a single-router home
Homes with 6 GHz devices and several 2.5 Gbps wired devices
Not for you if…
Large homes one router can't cover
Plans up to 1 Gig (more router than needed)
Strengths
10 Gbps WAN/LAN port and four 2.5 Gbps ports
Tri-band Wi-Fi 7 including 6 GHz with 320 MHz channels
Limitations
Only one 10 Gbps port
Coverage figure is ASUS's claim, not a measurement
Manufacturer specifications Manufacturer
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)
Speed class
BE9700
Bands
2.4 GHz + 5 GHz + 6 GHz
WAN port
1× 10 Gbps
LAN ports
1× 2.5 Gbps, 3× 2.5 Gbps
Mesh
Proprietary mesh
Coverage
ASUS claims up to 2,750 sq ft
Subscription
Not specified by manufacturer
Specifications from ASUS, checked October 8, 2026.
Things to know
US regulatory status: FCC Conditional Approval (expires March 6, 2028), as of October 4, 2026. Per Federal Communications Commission public notice. What this means
A 10 Gbps internet port and a 10 Gbps port on every satellite, so a fast plan and a 10 Gbps wired backhaul can reach the whole home.
Our analysis Editorial
Best for
Very large or multi-floor homes that need several units
Multi-gig plans and homes that can wire satellites at 10 Gbps
Not for you if…
Small or medium homes a cheaper system already covers
Homes without 6 GHz devices or multi-gig wiring
Strengths
Quad-band Wi-Fi 7 with a dedicated backhaul band
10 Gbps internet port, and a 10 Gbps port on every satellite
Limitations
Coverage figure is NETGEAR's claim for the 3-pack, not a measurement
NETGEAR's security subscription (Armor) is extra after the trial
Manufacturer specifications Manufacturer
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)
Speed class
BE27000
Bands
2.4 GHz + 2× 5 GHz + 6 GHz
WAN port
1× 10 Gbps
LAN ports
1× 10 Gbps, 4× 2.5 Gbps
Mesh
Proprietary mesh
Coverage
NETGEAR claims up to 10,000 sq ft (3-unit system)
Subscription
NETGEAR Armor (optional)
Specifications from NETGEAR, checked October 8, 2026.
Things to know
US regulatory status: FCC Conditional Approval (expires October 1, 2027), as of October 4, 2026. Per Federal Communications Commission public notice. What this means
A 2.5 Gbps internet port has the capacity for a 2 Gig plan; its other wired ports are 1 Gbps, so it suits homes where most devices use Wi-Fi.
Our analysis Editorial
Best for
Plans up to about 2 Gig in a small or medium home
People who want Wi-Fi 7 features on 5 GHz without paying for 6 GHz
Not for you if…
Plans faster than 2.5 Gbps
Homes with many Wi-Fi 6E or Wi-Fi 7 devices that could use 6 GHz
Strengths
2.5 Gbps WAN/LAN port for multi-gig plans up to that speed
Can join or lead an ASUS AiMesh network
Limitations
Two-stream radios and no 6 GHz band
Remaining wired ports are 1 Gbps
Manufacturer specifications Manufacturer
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)
Speed class
BE3600
Bands
2.4 GHz + 5 GHz
WAN port
1× 2.5 Gbps
LAN ports
4× 1 Gbps
Mesh
Proprietary mesh
Coverage
Not specified by manufacturer
Subscription
Not specified by manufacturer
Specifications from ASUS, checked October 4, 2026.
Things to know
US regulatory status: FCC Conditional Approval (expires March 6, 2028), as of October 4, 2026. Per Federal Communications Commission public notice. What this means
A 2.5 Gbps internet port, 2.5 Gbps ports on every unit and a 2.5 Gbps wired backhaul option for homes too big for one router.
Our analysis Editorial
Best for
Larger or multi-floor homes that need coverage from several units
Homes where satellites can be connected by Ethernet (2.5 Gbps wired backhaul)
Not for you if…
Plans faster than 2.5 Gbps (the internet port is 2.5 Gbps)
Small homes where one router covers everything
Strengths
Tri-band Wi-Fi 7 with 6 GHz on every unit
2.5 Gbps ports on the router and satellites, with a wired backhaul option
Automatic firmware updates
Limitations
No 10 Gbps ports
Coverage figure is NETGEAR's claim for the 3-pack, not a measurement
Manufacturer specifications Manufacturer
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)
Speed class
BE11000
Bands
2.4 GHz + 5 GHz + 6 GHz
WAN port
1× 2.5 Gbps
LAN ports
3× 2.5 Gbps
Mesh
Proprietary mesh
Coverage
NETGEAR claims up to 8,000 sq ft (3-unit system)
Subscription
NETGEAR Armor (optional)
Specifications from NETGEAR, checked October 4, 2026.
Things to know
US regulatory status: FCC Conditional Approval (expires October 1, 2027), as of October 4, 2026. Per Federal Communications Commission public notice. What this means
We started from the criteria explained at the top of this page, then compared
manufacturer specifications and, where available, measurements published by
independent testers (always attributed). Each pick states why it is here and who it is
not for. We have not tested these products ourselves.
No manufacturer paid for inclusion, and affiliate commissions do not influence which
products we list. Read our full methodology.
Article history
UpdatedAdded the ASUS RT-BE92U (tri-band with a 10 Gbps port) and the NETGEAR Orbi 970 mesh system for large homes on 5 Gig and faster plans.
This guide is based on technical research and is checked through Router Academy's editorial validation process. Technical claims are evaluated against relevant documentation and evidence before publication.
See our editorial methodology to learn how Router Academy researches
and maintains its guides.
What we don't claim
We have not tested the products discussed on this page ourselves.
Manufacturer specifications are identified as manufacturer-provided.
Independent measurements are attributed to the organization that took them.
Router Academy testing will only be reported once real testing has occurred.
We do not show prices, star ratings or review counts.
Alex Morgan is a network technology editor focused on Wi-Fi, home networking, routers, mesh systems, and practical network troubleshooting. His editorial work centers on translating networking standards, technical specifications, and configuration concepts into clear guidance that helps readers understand how their networks work and make informed technology decisions.
Multi-gig Ethernet explained: which cable each speed needs, why your connection runs at the slowest link, and what to check before paying for a 2 Gig or faster plan.
Four Wi-Fi 7 routers for a typical home, picked against clear criteria: plan speed, 6 GHz, wired ports and US regulatory status. And when to look elsewhere.